Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Track & Field Teams Sweep HCAC Most Valuable Player Awards

Track & Field Teams Sweep HCAC Most Valuable Player Awards

TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology student-athletes swept all four Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference Men's and Women's Track and Field Athlete of the Year awards to highlight a dominant performance for the indoor all-conference team, released Thursday by the league office.  The effort helped Rose-Hulman sweep both the HCAC men's and women's track and field team championships last weekend.

Lauren London completed the rare double of earning the HCAC Women's Track Athlete of the Year and HCAC Women's Field Athlete of the Year awards.  Noah Thomas was named HCAC Men's Track Athlete of the Year, and Eric Fiacable captured HCAC Men's Field Athlete of the Year honors.

In addition, Dara Smith was named HCAC Freshman of the Year as a fifth student-athlete major award winner.

Larry Cole was also named HCAC Women's Coach of the Year after leading the team to its third consecutive overall team women's title and its second straight indoor league championship.  Cole has earned 23 HCAC Coach of the Year awards and 25 league Coach of the Year awards in his career.  Members of the coaching staff also include Geoff Wayton (distance), Christy Sherman (throw), Liz Evans (jumps) and Dimitris Valioulis (volunteer).

Rose-Hulman also had two student-athletes selected to the conference's all-sportsmanship team.  Kally Morozin was chosen for the women's sportsmanship team award, while David Walbring claimed the men's sportsmanship team honor.

London won two track events and two field events to sweep both major Athlete of the Year awards.  In track, she won the 60-meter hurdles (9.14) and the 200-meter dash (26.25) with school record performances.  In field events, she established conference meet records to sweep both the long jump (18' 0 1/4") and the triple jump (37' 3"), with the triple jump performance also breaking an Engineer school record.  London also helped the 4-x-200 meter relay team win the league in a school record 1:46.44, while setting a final school record to finish runner-up in the 60-meter dash (7.95).

Thomas won two individual and helped two relay teams bring home conference titles on Saturday.  He won the 60-meter dash in 7.07 seconds and captured the 200-meter title in 22.65 seconds.  Thomas also ran a leg of the winning 4-x-200 meter relay (1:31.88) and was the anchor for the championship 4-x-400 relay team (3:28.54).

Fiacable swept both the shot put and weight throw championships.  His shot put mark was 48' 9 1/2", while the winning weight throw effort was 57' 10 1/2" to complete the double victory.

Smith was named HCAC Freshman of the Year after helping the women's 4-x-400 meter relay team place 1st (4:11.31), finishing 2nd in the high jump (5' 2 1/4"), placing 3rd in the 400-meter dash (1:01.48), and capturing a fifth-place finish in the long jump (16' 3 1/4").

A total of 26 student-athletes earned first-team or second-team all-HCAC honors for their performances last weekend:

Dawson Allen (4-x-200 relay)
Clare Bruns (4-x-400 relay)
Kristin East (4-x-400 relay)
Eric Fiacable (Shot Put, Weight Throw)
Aaron Lannoy (800, 4-x-400 relay)
Isaiah Lilje (4-x-400 relay)
Lauren London (60 Hurdles, 200, 4-x-200 relay, Long Jump, Triple Jump)
Adekite Oladipupo (4-x-200 relay)
Stephen Payne (4-x-200 relay)
Nick Palmer (Pole Vault)
Tina Rogers (4-x-200 relay, 4-x-400 relay)
Mary-Helen Shomba (4-x-200 relay)
Dara Smith (4-x-400 relay)
Noah Thomas (60, 200, 4-x-200 relay, 4-x-400 relay)
Kristian Zadlo (4-x-200 relay, 4-x-400 relay)

Anne Boxeth (Distance Medley relay)
Patricia Giraldo (Distance Medley relay)
Nicholas Hall (Distance Medley relay)
Abby Hawkins (Distance Medley relay)
Sarozjani Hunter (Distance Medley relay)
Eric Mitalo (Distance Medley relay)
Cameron Prisby (Pole Vault)
Nathan Schrader (Shot Put)
Matthew Stevenot (Mile, 3000)
Sean Sullivan (Distance Medley relay)
Tim Wilson (Distance Medley relay)

Jacob Sparks (Shot Put)