Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Women's Basketball Ends Season Just Outside NCAA D-III Top 25

Women's Basketball Ends Season Just Outside NCAA D-III Top 25



TERRE HAUTE, Ind. -- The Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology women's basketball team ended the season as the highest ranked team outside the top 25 in two NCAA Division III national polls, released Tuesday following the completion of the 2018 NCAA Division III Tournament.

Rose-Hulman ended up receiving the most votes of any school not ranked in the top 25 to essentially end the season as the No. 26 ranked team in NCAA Division III women's basketball.  The Fightin' Engineers received 41 points in the poll and 10 points in the WBCA poll to narrowly miss the final top 25 in each poll.

Rose-Hulman recorded a memorable 24-4 season that was highlighted by the first national ranking for any women's sport in school history and a school record 22-game winning streak.  The Fightin' Engineers reached No. 20 in the national poll and entered the NCAA Tournament ranked No. 23 by the Women's Basketball Coaches Association. 

Rose-Hulman also became the first team in Heartland Collegiate Athletic Conference history to finish a perfect 18-0 in the regular season and win the league tournament.  The season included Rose-Hulman's third consecutive HCAC regular season championship, its second straight HCAC Tournament championship, and its second consecutive trip to the NCAA Division III Tournament.

Individually, Jon Prevo was named HCAC Coach of the Year for the second consecutive season.  Junior Ally Bromenschenkel earned first-team all-league recognition, and juniors Abby Bromenschenkel and Chiarra Franklin claimed second-team all-conference honors.  Franklin was also named Most Valuable Player of the HCAC Tournament, and was joined on the all-tournament team by Ally Bromenschenkel and senior Alyzia Dilworth.

The Fightin' Engineers enter the 2018-19 season with the nation's longest active home winning streak at 38 games and are projected to return 13 of their 15 players next season, including the top two scorers.