Skip to navigation Skip to content Skip to footer

Rose-Hulman Volleyball Falls Twice to Open Season in Washington

Rose-Hulman Volleyball Falls Twice to Open Season in Washington

SATURDAY LIVE COVERAGE:
Rose-Hulman vs. Pacific Lutheran - Saturday Aug. 31 - 2 PM ET (11 AM PT) - (LIVE STATS)
Rose-Hulman vs. Widener - Saturday Aug. 31 - 6 PM ET (3 PM PT) - (LIVE STATS)

TACOMA, Wash. -- Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology opened the 2019 volleyball season with a pair of losses to solid NCAA Division III foes on Friday at the University of Puget Sound Tour presented by Tacoma Destinations.

Wheaton (Ill.) topped the Engineers 25-22, 25-20, 25-13 in the first match of the day.  Elizabeth Canon led Rose-Hulman with 10 kills.  Katie Orbeta added seven kills and a team-high 15 assists.  

Eryn Castaneda reached double figures with 10 assists, and Katryna Dahlberg recorded 12 digs.  Riley Woodruff led the blocking effort with two block assists, and Castaneda had a team-high two service aces.

Puget Sound earned a 25-20, 25-18, 25-22 win over Rose-Hulman in the nightcap.  Canon again led the squad with seven kills.  Kayla Harding added six kills, and Adekite Oladipupo had five kills.  Orbeta tallied 15 assists, and Castaneda again had two service aces.  Maria Bruner recorded one block solo and two block assists to lead the front row effort, and Dahlberg pitched in with 13 digs.

Rose-Hulman returns to action with two matches on Saturday.  The Fightin' Engineers face Pacific Lutheran at 11 am PT (2 pm ET) and Widener at 3 pm PT (6 pm ET) in the final day of the Invitational.